Micronucleus test

The micronucleus test according to DIN EN ISO 21427-2 T5 /OECD No.487 is an in vitro method for the identification of damages to chromatin and thereby contributes to the recognition of a cancer risk.
Thus far the method has been limited to recording the biomarker “micronucleus”, a chromatin-containing structure that occurs in addition to the main nucleus, in cultures of mammalian cells as a consequence of exposure to a test substance. Micronuclei/small nuclei have so far been detected after fixation and chromatin staining of the exposed cells.

GOBIO has developed an innovative variant of the method as accredited in-house method HM 21427-2, in which micronuclei on living cells can be detected by means of live image analysis. The method is based on a healthy cell line expressing a histone 2B green fluorescence fusion protein. As a result, chromatin structures such as micronuclei are visible in the living cell using fluorescence microscopy. The cells that GOBIO uses for the micronucleus test are neither derived from tumors nor immortalized in any other way. They have a natural control of the cell cycle and are metabolically competent.

They are capable of natural cell death. Due to these properties, the biomarker “micronucleus” can also be used to test the transformation of a previously healthy cell into a cancer cell. The following changes in nuclear morphology occur when a malignant transformation occurs.

Test Procedure

Usually a rangefinder test is carried out first to determine cytotoxicity. The test is performed on 96 well plates. Exposure to pollutants is performed in 4 subcytotoxic concentrations (12 wells per concentration) when the adherent growing cells have reached a confluence of 60 %. Positive and negative controls are included in each experiment. The micronucleus frequency in test approaches is determined using 2 automatically generated images/pro well software. To identify micronuclei, both the fluorescence image and the superposition with the bright field image are analysed.

On customer request the measurement can be performed at different times. This allows the detection of reversible effects, e.g. the reintegration of micronuclei during interphase.

Please leave your contact details if you wish to receive further information. Link to the contact form.

A genotoxic damage pattern comprising (a,b) micronuclei, (c) a large micronucleus, (d) a multiple deformed nucleus, (e) a nuclear fragment outside a cell, and (f) a residue of a filigree nucleoplasmic bridge. The images were taken in 4-NQO exposed cultures (a,b,d), in colchicine exposed cultures (c,e) and in cannabidiol exposed cultures (f).

The benefits of the new, cost-effective micronucleus test

Bastian Niklas Hölzel, Kurt Pfannkuche, Bernhard Allner, Hans Thomas Allner, Jürgen Hescheler, Daniel Derichsweiler, Henner Hollert, Andreas Schiwy, Julia Brendt, Michael Schaffeld, Alexander Froschauer & Petra Stahlschmidt-Allner (2020): Following the adverse outcome pathway from micronucleus to cancer using H2B-eGFP transgenic healthy stem cells. Zur Veröffentlichung.

  • Performance characteristics according to DAkkS-tested SOP:
    Detection of cytogenetic damage to non-immortalized, healthy cells with functional proliferation control.
  • The basic functions of the method are in accordance with OECD Guideline No. 487/ DIN EN ISO 21427-2 T5, i.e. the detection of cytogenetic damage primarily arised during mitosis. Since the culture, unlike synchronously dividing immortalised cells, also includes long living stem cells, damages occurring during interphase are also reliably detected.
  • The method is mode of action related. Sub mechanisms are also recorded.
  • The test thus goes beyond the performance characteristics of OECD Guideline No. 487/ DIN EN ISO 21427-2 T5
  • Due to the multitude of cellular functions that can be observed in the H2B-GFP-KCB cell line, also non-dose-related effects are considered relevant , e.g. interventions in the genetic basis of motility
  • Therefore, the criterion of dose dependence is reported, but it is not an exclusion criterion for the assessment of genotoxicity.
  • Timely results: 14 days after providing the test substance/test material
  • GLP-compliant test report
  • Extensive electronic, exposé-suited documentation of the evaluation of the image files
  • Cytotoxicity test included at no additional cost
  • Animal-free, metabolic activation of the test substance available
  • Reversibility can be detected by measuring at different time points.
  • Further parameters of the cells’ state of health can be retrieved at low cost, e.g.mitotic index, motility. Downstream analyses possible: cytokinese/interphase duration, apoptosis pycnotisation, gene expression analyses based on a known expressome.

Mikrokerntest

Der Mikrokerntest nach DIN EN ISO 21427-2 T5 bzw . OECD No.487 ist ein in vitro Verfahren, das eine Schädigung des Erbgutes und damit eine krebsauslösende Veränderung der Zelle erfasst. Bisher beschränkte sich das Verfahren darauf, den Biomarker „Mikrokern“, eine chromatinhaltige Struktur, die zusätzlich zum Hauptkern auftritt, in Kulturen von Säugerzellen als eine Folge der Exposition gegenüber einer Prüfsubstanz zu dokumentieren. Mikrokerne/Kleinkerne wurden bislang mittels Chromatinfärbetechniken an fixierten Zellen nachgewiesen.

GOBIO hat eine innovative Variante des Verfahrens als akkreditierte Hausmethode HM 21427-2 entwickelt, bei der Mikrokerne an lebenden Zellen mittels Lebendbildanalyse erfasst werden können. Das Verfahren basiert auf einer gesunden Zelllinie, die ein Histon 2B Grünfluoreszenz-Fusionsprotein expremiert. Dadurch sind Chromatinstrukturen wie Mikrokerne mittels Fluoreszenzmikroskopie in der lebenden Zelle sichtbar. Die Zellen die GOBIO für den Mikrokerntest einsetzt, sind weder von Tumoren abgeleitet noch anderweitig immortalisiert. Sie verfügen über eine natürliche Kontrolle des Zellzyklus und sind metabolisch kompetent. Sie sind zu natürlichem Zelltod fähig. Aufgrund dieser Eigenschaften kann über den Biomarker „Mikrokern „ hinaus auch eine Transformation der vormals gesunden Zelle zur Krebszelle geprüft werden. Folgende Veränderungen der Kernmorphologie treten auf wenn eine maligne Transformation stattfindet.

Testdurchführung

Der Test wird auf 96 well-Platten durchgeführt. Die Schadstoffexposition erfolgt in 4 Konzentrationen (12 wells pro Konzentration) wenn die adhärent wachsenden Zellen eine Konfluenz von 60 % erreicht haben. Es werden Positiv- und Negativkontrollen in jedem Experiment mitgeführt. Die Mikrokernfrequenz in Testansätzen wird anhand von 2 automatisiert erstellten Bildern/pro well  software gestützt ermittelt. Zur Identifizierung von Micronuclei wird sowohl das Fluoreszenzbild als auch die Überlagerung mit der Hellfeldaufnahme analysiert.

Auf Kundenwunsch ist eine weitere Erfassung zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt möglich. Die Ergebnisse werden in einem GLP-konformen Prüfbericht übermittelt. (Beispielbericht und Mikrofotos dem Kunden zur Verfügung gestellt).

on demand

Die Vorteile des neuen, kostengünstigen Mikrokerntests

Bastian Niklas Hölzel, Kurt Pfannkuche, Bernhard Allner, Hans Thomas Allner, Jürgen Hescheler, Daniel Derichsweiler, Henner Hollert, Andreas Schiwy, Julia Brendt, Michael Schaffeld, Alexander Froschauer & Petra Stahlschmidt-Allner (2020):Following the adverse outcome pathway from micronucleus to cancer using H2B-eGFP transgenic healthy stem cells. Zur Veröffentlichung.

  • Leistungsmerkmale gemäß DAkkS-geprüfter SOP:
    Erkennung von zytogenetischen Schädigungen an nicht immortalisierten, gesunden Zellen mit funktioneller Proliferationskontrolle.
  • Die Methode stimmt in den Grundfunktionen mit OECD Guideline Nr. 487/ DIN EN ISO 21427-2 T5 überein, also der Erfassung von vornehmlich mitotisch entstandenen zytogenetischen Schäden. Da die Kultur anders als synchronteilende immortalisierte Zellen auch langlebige Stammzellen umfasst, werden auch Schäden, die während der Interphase entstehen, zuverlässig erfasst.
  • Die Methode ist Wirkmechanismus-basiert. Es werden auch Submechanismen abgebildet
  • Damit geht der Test über die Merkmale von OECD Guideline Nr. 487/ DIN EN ISO 21427-2 T5 hinaus
  • Aufgrund der Vielzahl an zellulären Funktionen, die in der H2B-GFP-KCB Zelllinie beobachtet werden können, sind nicht-dosisbezogene Effekte denkbar, z.B. Eingriffe in die genetische Grundlage von Motilität.
  • Deshalb wird das Kriterium der Dosisabhängigkeit berichtet, es ist aber kein Ausschlusskriterium für die Beurteilung der Gentoxizität.
  • Zeitnahe Ergebnisse: 14 Tage nach Bereitstellung der Prüfsubstanz/des Testgutes
  • GLP-konformer Prüfbericht
  • Umfangreiche elektronische, exposé-fähige Dokumentation der Auswertung der Bilddateien
  • Cytotoxizitätsprüfung enthalten ohne Zusatzkosten
  • Tierversuchsfreie, metabolische Aktivierung der Testsubstanz
  • Weitere Parameter des Gesundheitszustandes der Zellen kostengünstig abrufbar z.b. Mitoseindex, Motilität, Genexpressionsanalysen auf der Grundlage eines bekannten Expressoms. Downstream Analysen möglich: Cytokinese-/Interphasedauer, Apoptose Pyknotisierung, Genexpressionsanalysen auf der Grundlage eines bekannten Expressoms.