Algae Growth Inhibition Test

The algae growth inhibition test according to DIN 38412-L33 is a standardized procedure for the evaluation of toxic effects by waste water samples in dilution series.

The test organisms are unicellular green algae that live in lentic waters, such as Scenedesmus subspicatus. The algae test aims at assessing deleterious effects of sewage already to primary producers, thus with potential to affect several trophic levels.

In the algae growth inhibition test a defined number of algae are exposed, under precise light and temperature conditions, to the test medium supplemented with inorganic mineral nutrients. The fluorescence of chlorophyll is measured at the beginning and at the end of the experiment, which is directly related to the final biomass in the samples.

After 72 hours the sample dilution at which the biomass production is inhibited less than 20% is determined.

This method is employed in the frame of the chemical, plant protection and water legislations (guideline 67/548/EWG Annex V; DIN 38 412 (L1) und (L9); OECD Guidelines for testing of chemicals, TG 201 “Alga, Growth Inhibition Test”).

Algentest

Der Algentest nach DIN 38412-L33 ist ein standardisiertes Verfahren, bei dem die Wirkung von Abwasser gegenüber Algen in Verdünnungsstufen erfasst wird.

Als Testorganismus dienen einzellige Grünalgen, z.B. Scenedesmus subspicatus, die als planktische Organismen in stehenden oder langsam fließenden Gewässern leben. Der Algentest zielt darauf, Schadwirkungen zu erfassen, die den für das Leben so grundlegenden Prozess der Primärproduktion beeinträchtigen.

Im Algentest wird eine definierte Anzahl von Algen gegenüber dem Testmedium, dem anorganische Nährsalze zugegeben werden, unter definierten Beleuchtungs- und Temperaturbedingungen exponiert. Gemessen wird die Fluoreszenz des Chlorophylls bei Versuchanfang und -ende. Da das Wachstum der Algen proportional zu der Menge des gebildeten grünen Farbstoffs ist, lässt der gemessene Wert direkt auf die Biomasse im Testansatz schließen.
Nach 72-stündiger Exposition der Testorganismen wird die Verdünnungsstufe bestimmt, bei der eine Hemmwirkung der Biomasseproduktion von unter 20% gemessen werden kann.

Die Testergebnisse des Algentestes werden im Rahmen von Chemikaliengesetz, Pflanzenschutzgesetz und Wasserhaushaltsgesetz zur Substanzbewertung eingesetzt (Richtlinie 67/548/EWG Anhang V; DIN 38412 (L33) und L9; OECD Guidelines for testing of chemicals, 201 „Alga, Growth Inhibition Test“).