umu-Chromotest

The umuC test in accordance with the DIN EN ISO 38415-T3 norm evaluates the mutagenic potential of samples in solution.

The test organism is the genetically modified bacterium strain Salmonella typhimurium TA 1535/pSK 1002, a gram-negative facultative anaerobe of the Enterobacteriaceae family. This strain presents important characteristics for a sensitive genotoxicity test:

  • the genome is modified, so that the excision repair system is deficient (uvrB) and the cell wall is incomplete (rfa) so that it is permeable to several substances. Moreover, the strain does not possess a chromosomal lacZ gene;
  • the strain also carries the plasmid pSK1002, which contains a fused umuC-lacZ gene and a gene for Ampicillin resistance.

The bacteria are exposed under specific conditions to different concentrations of the test substance, whereat genotoxic substances induce the umuC gene in a concentration-dependent manner. The induction of the gene is a measure for the mutagenic potential of the tested substance, and since the umuC gene is fused to the ß-galactosidase gene (lacZ), the induction rate of the umuC gene can be determined through measurement of the galactosidase activity.

The umuC test is employed for the assessment of genotoxic potential in the frame of sewage effluent monitoring.

umu-Test

Der umu-Test nach DIN EN ISO 38415-T3 bestimmt das erbgutverändernde Potential von Wasser.

Als Testorganismus dient das gentechnisch veränderte Bakterium Salmonella typhimurium TA 1535/pSK 1002, ein gram-negatives, fakultativ anaerobes Bakterium aus der Familie der Enterobacteriaceae. Dieser Stamm hat einige für einen sensitiven Gentoxizitätstest wichtige Eigenschaften:

  • Das verwendete Bakterium trägt ein modifiziertes Genom. Es ist excisions-reparaturdefizient (uvrB), besitzt eine unvollständige Zellwand (rfa), die für viele Stoffe permeabel ist, und kein chromosomales lacZ-Gen.
  • Gegenüber dem Ausgangsstamm trägt der Testorganismus noch das Plasmid pSK1002 mit dem umuC-lacZ-Gen und ein Gen für Ampicillin-Resistenz.

Die Bakterien werden unter festgelegten Bedingungen verschiedenen Konzentrationen des Testgutes exponiert. Dabei induzieren Gentoxine in Abhängigkeit von ihrer Konzentration das so genannte umuC-Gen. Die Induktion des Gens ist ein Maß für das mutagene Potential des untersuchten Testguts. Da das umuC-Gen im verwendeten Testorganismus mit dem lacZ-Gen für die ß-Galaktosidase gekoppelt ist, wird die Messung der Induktionsrate des umuC-Gens durch die Bestimmung der Galaktosidase-Aktivität möglich.

Der umu-Test wird zur Erfassung von gentoxischen Wirkungen im Rahmen des Abwassermonitorings eingesetzt.