Biodegradation Tests

Zahn-Wellens-Test

The method according to EN ISO 9888-L25 / OECD 302 B is used to determine the elimination and the complete biodegradability of water-soluble organic substances or of wastewater constituents by aerobic microorganisms. It is tested whether the initial test concentration of 400mg disolved organic substances (DOC) is biodegraded or eliminated over a period of 7-21 days. For this purpose, inorganic nutrient salts and sewage sludge from a waste water treatment plant (inoculum) are added to the sample. For chemical testing purposes the choice of the inoclum is triggered by the intended use of the substance or substance mixture. In waste water management of industrial plants, process water or partial flows we use Inocluae from the respective industrial wastewater treatment plant or for indirect dischargers from the receiving municipal sewage treatment plant. The test can also be used to detect a possible impairment of the degradation performance by the test material. For this purpose, the sample is mixed with model substances or mixtures of substances and the decrease in DOC is determined over a period of 7-21 days.

Laboratory sewage plants

Various methods can be used for detecting the biodegradability of pollutants:
In this test method, activated sludge from sewage treatment plants and synthetic sewage is used for testing biodegradability and elimination. Using the activated sludge and other test parameters, the biological stages of sewage treatment plants are stimulated. The test method is based on OECD 303A (coupled unit tests), DIN 38412-L24 and DIN 38412-L26

Inhibition of nitrification

The nitrification inhibition test according to EN ISO 9509 (L38) records effects on the process of nitrification, i.e. the oxidation of the toxic waste water content ammonia to nitrate. Depending on the question, the effect of the test material on the conversion capacity of an inoculum from an industrial or municipal sewage treatment plant is examined.

Growth inhibition test with Pseudomonas putida

With this method according to DIN EN ISO 10712-L8, the effect of wastewater constituents on the growth of bacteria is measured. The process is used to assess the negative effects of discharges on the biocenosis and the functioning of sewage treatment plants. The bacterium Pseudomonas putida is used as a substitute for heterotrophic microorganisms in fresh water.

Biologische Abbautests

Zahn-Wellens-Test

Das Verfahren nach EN ISO 9888-L25/OECD 302 B dient zur Bestimmung der Elimination und der vollständigen biologischen Abbaubarkeit von wasserlöslichen organischen Substanzen oder von Abwasserinhaltsstoffen durch aerobe Mikroorganismen. Es wird geprüft, ob der Gehalt an löslichen organischen Substanzen (DOC) in einer in einer Testkonzentration von 400mg/L bei Versuchsbeginn über einen Zeitraum von 7-21 Tagen biologische abgebaut oder eliminiert wird. Dazu werden der Probe anorganische Nährsalze und Klärschlamm (Inoculum) aus einer Abwasserreinigungsanlage zugegeben. Die Wahl des Inoculums orientiert sich bei der Chemikalientestung am bestimmungsgemäßen Gebrauch der Substanz oder des Substanzgemisches. In der Regel sind das kommunale Kläranlagen. Im Abwassermanagement von Industrieanlagen werden Prozesswasser oder Teilströme je nach Einleitersituation mit Inoculae von der jeweiligen Industrieabwasserreinigungsanlage oder bei Indirekteinleitern von der empfangenden Kommunalen Kläranlage verwendet. Der Test kann auch eingesetzt werden, um eine mögliche Beeinträchtigung der Abbauleistung durch das Testgut zu erfassen. Dazu wird die Probe mit Modellsubtanzen oder Substanzgemischen versetzt und die Abnahme des DOC über einen Zeitraum von 7-21 Tagen bestimmt.

Laborkläranlagen

Zur Erfassung der biologischen Abbaubarkeit von Schadstoffen können verschiedene Verfahren eingesetzt werden:

Bei diesem Testverfahren wird Belebtschlamm aus Kläranlagen und synthetisches Abwasser zur Prüfung der biologischen Abbaubarkeit bzw. Elimination verwendet. Mit Hilfe des Belebtschlamms und anderen Testparametern werden die biologischen Stufen von Kläranlagen stimuliert. Das Testverfahren basiert auf OECD 303A (Coupled Unit Tests), DIN 38412-L26.

Nitrifikationshemmtest

Der Nitrifikationshemmtest nach EN ISO 9509 erfasst Wirkungen auf den Prozess der Nitrifikation, d.h die Oxidation des toxischen Abwasserinhaltsstoff Ammoniak zu Nitrat. Dabei wird je nach Fragestellung die Wirkung des Testgutes auf die Umsetzungskapazität eines Inoculums aus einer industriellen oder einer kommunalen Kläranlage untersucht.

Wachstumshemmtest mit Pseudomonas putida

Mit diesem Verfahren nach DIN EN ISO 10712-L8 wird die Wirkung von Abwasserinhaltsstoffen auf das Wachstum von Bakterien gemessen. Das Verfahren wird eingesetzt, um negative Auswirkungen von Einleitungen auf die Biozönose und Funktionsfähigkeit von Kläranlagen zu erfassen. Das Bakterium Pseudomonas putida wird stellvertretend für heterotrophe Mikroorganismen im Süßwasser verwendet.